Manage Users

Introduction

By default, only the Opt-Server owner can access and use the Opt-Server. Follow the steps in this page to allow other PIFOP users to use an Opt-Server that you are hosting.

Before continuing, we recommend that you read the guide on Security Best Practices.

Opt-Server users only exist within User Groups. Therefore, the first step before adding users to an Opt-Server is to create the group to which the users will belong.

User Groups

Create User Group

STEP 1. With the Opt-Server running, go to the Opt-Server Management page. If the Opt-Server is not running, enter the directory in which you have extracted the Opt-Server program and enter this command:

> ./opt-server --start


STEP 2. In the Opt-Server Management page, you should see a table with all Opt-Servers you have access to. Select the Opt-Server you want to manage by clicking on it.


STEP 3. Below the list of Opt-Servers, you should see an area with information about the Opt-Server you have selected. In the User Groups section, click on New Group.


STEP 4. Fill in the form with the Name of the user group and the limits you want to impose to the users in this user group. See below the meaning of each limit.

Restrictions/Permissions Description Max. memory (mb) Maximum memory (in megabytes) consumed by processes ran by users in the user group. Max. time (min) Maximum execution time (in minutes) of processes ran by users in the user group. Max. parallel processes Maximum number of simultaneous processes that can be ran by users in the user group. Monitoring rights Enable/Disable monitoring terminal commands for users in the user group — see Terminal Commands. Admin rights Enable/Disable admin commands for users in the user group — see Terminal Commands.

DONE. After clicking on Create, the newly created user group should appear in the user group selector.

Edit User Group

Select an Opt-Server at Opt-Server Management. In the User Groups area, select the user group you want to modify. Fill in the form with the new values and click Save.

Delete User Group

Select an Opt-Server at Opt-Server Management. In the User Groups area, select the user group you want to delete and click on the delete button.

Adding and Removing Users

Adding Users

STEP 1. Go to the Opt-Server Management page and select the Opt-Server you want to add users to.


STEP 2. In the User Groups area, use the selector to select the group you want to add users to. If you haven't created one yet, see above.


STEP 3. Users area, click on the Add button.


STEP 4. Use the input field to enter the usernames or emails of the users you want to add to the selected user group. Then press Confirm.


DONE. Now you should see the newly added users in the list of users. The restrictions and permissions set in the user group configuration apply to each user individually.

Removing Users

Select an Opt-Server at Opt-Server Management page. In the User Groups area, select the user group you want to modify the users. In the Users area, use the checkbox in the side of each user to select those you want to remove. Then click in the Remove button that is to the right of the Users header.

Terms and Privacy Help Pricing About Blog Contact us Server Status Twitter